Search Guide

Minnesota Foreclosure Laws

Jun 06, 2013 - 2 Min read
admin
Real Estate Expert

Foreclosure Process Overview

Both in-court and out-of-court foreclosure proceedings are used in Minnesota. The ideal timeline for a Minnesota foreclosure is approximately four months, not including the redemption period.

Judicial Non Judicial Comment Process Period Publish Sale Redemption Period Sale/NTS
Non-judicial mostly 90-100 days 7 days 180 days Sheriff

Pre-foreclosure Period

In Minnesota, a court foreclosure begins when a lender notifies the borrower of the default. The lender then files a court action against the borrower. If the court rules against the borrower, a sale is scheduled.

The majority of Minnesota foreclosures are handled out of court through a power-of-sale clause contained in the mortgage. Under most mortgages, a lender must mail a default notice to the borrower before scheduling the sale.

With both types of foreclosure proceedings, the borrower can stop the foreclosure any time before the foreclosure sale by paying the default amount, plus fees and allowable costs.

Notice of Sale / Auction

The notice must include the borrower, owner, and lender names; the original loan amount; the mortgage date; recording information; the default amount due; a property description; the time and location of the sale; and the redemption period. The notice must be published for six weeks, and the occupants of the property must be given the notice in person at least four weeks prior to the sale.

The county sheriff or sheriff’s deputy conducts the foreclosure sale between 9:00 a.m. and sundown at a public place, usually the sheriff’s office. Anyone may bid at the sale, and the property is sold to the winning bidder. If not the lender, the winning bidder must be prepared to pay the full amount in cash or cashier’s check. The sheriff may postpone the sale by publishing a notice in the newspaper where the original notice of sale was published. After the sale, the sheriff gives a certificate of sale to the winning bidder. The certificate of sale effectively transfers ownership and possession rights to the winning bidder after the redemption period.

In Minnesota, a borrower usually has a six-month redemption period, but some property types and mortgages allow for a 12-month redemption period. During this time, the borrower can redeem the property by paying the total amount of the bid plus interest and any applicable costs.

More Resources

Learn how to prevent a home foreclosure
Get help stopping a home foreclosure
Search foreclosures in Minnesota
Learn how to buy foreclosures

You might also like
Alabama Foreclosure Laws
3 min read Alabama Foreclosure Laws Under Alabama (AL) foreclosure laws, both judicial and nonjudicial foreclosures are permitted. Alabama is generally considered a nonjudicial foreclosure state, so most foreclosures take place outside of court after a homeowner has defaulted on their mortgage loan and the Alabama pre-foreclosure process has been completed. The typical Alabama foreclosure takes between two and three months. […]
Alaska Foreclosure Laws
2 min read Alaska Foreclosure Laws Foreclosure Process Overview Both in-court and out-of-court foreclosures are available in Alaska, but most foreclosures are done out of court. The typical out-of-court foreclosure takes 3-4 months. Judicial Non Judicial Comment Process Period Publish Sale Redemption Period Sale/NTS • • Judicial rarely 105 days 65 days 365 days* Trustee * Judicial foreclosures only Pre-foreclosure Period […]
Arizona Foreclosure Laws
3 min read Arizona Foreclosure Laws Foreclosure Process Overview Both judicial (in-court) and non-judicial (out-of-court) foreclosures occur in Arizona, although judicial foreclosures are not common in the state. The typical timeline for an non-judicial foreclosure is at least three months from the date the first notice of foreclosure sale is filed to the date of the actual foreclosure sale. Judicial Non […]